Indian Hill Sweeps CHL Track & Field Championships


Indian Hill boys and girls track & field dominated the league championships at Taylor easily winning titles.  In the two day meet, 15 league records fell.  That might be a record for number of new records in one year! There are two sets of running records for the CHL.  One is FAT (fully automatic timing) which has been used the last three years.  The other are hand held records.

Indian Hill had 152 points, 25 better than 2nd place Wyoming.  Taylor was 3rd with 113 points & Madeira 4th with 98 points.  Mariemont was 5th, Reading 6th, Finneytown 7th, & Deer Park 8th.  The Braves had five 1st place finishes.  Three of those were from sophomore Ellie Podojil.  Podojil was 1st in the 100 Dash (12.99), 400 Dash (58.66), & 200 Dash (26.75).  Louisa Klaserner was 1st in the 100 Hurdles (16.18).  Ashleigh Prugh was 1st in the 1600 Run in 5:15.50.  That broke the FAT league record that Prugh set last year.  Wyoming had three 1st places.  The 4 x 800 Relay was 1st (10:06.34).  Marley Manigault won the Shot Put.  Her throw of 37'8 broke her record from last year.  Riley Bahr won the 3200 Run with a FAT record of 11:48.11.  Taylor had two 1st places. Jessie LaKamp  was 1st in the 300 Hurdles (46.92). Bridget Lanham won the Pole Vault (8').  Madeira had five  1st place finishes, including 3 of the 4 relays.  Yvonne Colson won the Discus breaking a 31 year league record.  Her best throw was 125'4.  Madeira's 4 x 400 Relay of Sophia Davenport, Brooke Schomaeker, Ellie Paxton, & Tess Mitchell broke the league FAT mark with a 4:12.51. The Amazon 4 x 100 Relay (51.44) & 4 x 200 Relay (1:50.30) also were 1st.  Mitchell was 1st in the 800 Run (2:23.74).  Mariemont won two field events.  Marin Valentine won the High Jump (5'2) and Jaxie Brokamp won the Long Jump (16'5.75). 
Sue Savage of Indian Hill was named Coach of the Year.  Marley Manigault was the Field Athlete of the Year.  Ellie Podjil was the Runner of the Year.  There was a new award this year.  Overall Athlete was Ellie Podojil.

Indian Hill had 159 points, 53 more than 2nd place Reading.  The margin of 53 points is the most since 2011 and the 159 points is also the most since 159.  Taylor was 3rd with 101 points & Madeira 4th with 99 points.  Wyoming was 5th, Mariemont 6th, Finneytown 7th, & Deer Park 8th. Of the 17 events, 10 were new league records.  Indian Hill won 8 of the 17 events, 4 of them league records.  Mykal Bright won the 110 Hurdles (15.54).  He set the league FAT record of 15.26 in the prelims.  Bright set the 300 Hurdle FAT record (39.61) in the finals.  Adam Mutasim won the 200 Dash (23.00). He broke the FAT league record in the prelims (22.76). The Brave's 4 x 800 Relay team ran a league FAT record 8:09.43. Members were John Giroux, Nolan Heffernan, Ben Bayless, & West Gardner.  Joe Murdock won the 3200 Run in 9:54.77, breaking his own league FAT record from last year. Gardner won the 400 Dash (50.93).  Indian Hill's 4 x 400 Relay was 1st in 3:30.36, just missing the league record. Dimetrius Baylor won the 100 Dash in 11.37.  Justin Dreying (Reading) was 2nd in 11.39.  Dreyling broke the FAT league record in the prelims with a 11.26. Besides Dreying's 100 Dash record, Reading had four 1st places and three additional league records.  Dreyling won the Long Jump with a 23'10 mark.  He not only broke the league record by over a foot but has the best Division II long jump mark in the state this season. Reading's 4 x 100 Relay team of Dreyling, Keont'e Sanders, Mancini Jackson, & Gabe Van Skaik broke the FAT league mark with a 43.86.  The Blue Devil 4 x 200 Relay (Sanders, Van Skaik, Bryce Hunt, & Don'nek Patterson) not only broke the FAT record but ran the fastest time in history in the CHL with a 1:31.33.  Hunt also won the High Jump (6').  Garrett Murphy was a double winner for Taylor in the Shot Put (46'4.5) & Discus (128'2).  Diego Arredondo of Madeira won the 800 Run in 2:02.03.  Wyoming had a pair of league champs.  Jacob Hancock won the Pole Vault (11'6).  Jack Schwartz won the 1600 in 4:32.12.  He lowered the league FAT record he set last year.  Sue Savage was two for two winning CHL Coach of the Year for the boys.  The Field Athlete of the Year was Garrett Murphy.  The Runner of the Year was Dimetrius Baylor.  The Overall Athlete was Mykal Bright.

Next up for the track & field teams will be the district meet.