During the month of July, we will be featuring the history of the Cincinnati Hills League communities.  The SID did research on the communities.  In some cases, I found quite of bit of information.  In other cases, it was not easy finding the info.  As we look at each one of of our eight districts, I will guarantee you will find out at least something you didn't know.  A district will be featured alphabetically about every four or five days.

Mariemont's history is actually a two part story.  In 1788, the settlement of Columbia was founded in the area that is now Lunken Airport.  In 1799, part of that land was sold off in the area that is now Mariemont.  In 1802, the first brick house in the area of Mariemont was built by Eliphalet Fern.  Today, it is one of the oldest brick houses in Hamilton County.  This area remained a small village until the 1900's.  In 1923, Mary Emery broke ground on a planned community.  She spent millions of dollars to develop a "National Exemplar" town.  The town was built to resemble an English town with most structures Tudor style.  A very distinctive town square is along Wooster Avenue.  Today, there are about 3400 people in the village.

Plainfield High School & Terrace Park High School merged into Mariemont High School in the early 1950's.  When built in the early 1970's, the present Mariemont High School was built with no walls between classrooms.  That was an "educational fad" of the time.  Today, there are walls in the high school. It is the only high school in the league to have a full size natatorium.  The school district also includes Fairfax and Terrace Park.

Some interesting Mariemont facts... The village was designated a National Historic Landmark in 2007 and is one of the few communities in the United States to still have a town crier.  Mariemont Schools have received the Blue Ribbon  School of Excellence four times.  They are the first school in Ohio and 4th nationwide to do this.

Coming up next will be Reading.

In 1824, Montgomery Road was built making it easier to get in the area that is now Madeira. This city developed in 1866 along the rail line between Cincinnati and Parkersburg, West Virginia. The local stop was named after a nearby resident, John Madeira.  In 1910, it was incorporated as a village, with a population of 500.  By 1930, over 1000 people lived in the village and in 1960, Madeira became a city when the population reached 6500.  Today, around 8700 people live in Madeira.

The schools in the Madeira area go back to 1808 when the first classes were held in a log building near what is today Miami & Euclid Avenues.  In 1875, a brick building was built to start the Madeira District Number 6.  In 1937, Madeira junior/senior building was completed.  Later this was Sellman Middle School.  The building was torn down and replaced in 2006 with a new middle school.  The high school moved to a new building in 1958.  It was one of the first campus style buildings in the Cincinnati area.  Much renovation and expansion has been done to the high school over the years.

Some interesting Madeira facts...  Clarence DeMar, a former Madeira resident, competed in the Olympic Marathon three times (1912, 1924, 1928). He won a bronze medal in 1924. He has held the record for running the most Boston Marathons, competing in 34 and winning 7.  In 1863, Confederate general John Morgan passed through Madeira on his famous raid of southern Ohio.

Indian Hill had it's beginnings as farming community in the 1800's.  In 1904, Cincinnatians bought up farmhouses as rural weekend destinations.  In 1924, the Camargo Realty Company formed.  More ambitious building took place with grand mansions, many with stables, being built.  Indian Hill was incorporated as a village in 1941.  Today, the population is 5700.  The official name is The Village of Indian Hill, even though under Ohio code it is a city. 

An early school in the area was Camp Dennison.  Today, it is a popular restaurant named "The School House". The Indian Hill Rural School District was formed in 1936. Today, the district includes two elementary schools and a junior & senior high school.  As far as enrollment, Indian Hill is the largest high school in the league and has received numerous awards and recognitions over the years as one of the best high schools in the nation.  The school district today not only includes Indian Hill but parts of Sycamore Township.

Some interesting Indian Hill facts...  Among the notable residents of Indian Hill are Peter Frampton, rock star, and Marvin Lewis, Bengals head coach.  At one time the first man on the moon, Neil Armstrong, was a resident.

Next up, Madeira.

All the history I got on Finneytown was very early.  In 1795, a section of land in the vicinity of present day was purchased by Ebenezer Ward. He bequeathed to his grandson Ebenezer Ward Finney for $426.23.  Finney got to his land on an indian path that was later called Winton Wood.  In 1800, a new settlement was formed called Finneytown.  Today, Finneytown has a population of 12,700. 

There are two elementary schools and a junior-senior high school in the district today, which includes part of Springfield Township.  Whitaker Elementary is located on the site of the original school in the area from the 1800's.

Some interesting Finneytown facts....  In 1962, Finneytown was the site of the first Homearama.  Jeffery Immelt, the CEO & Chairman of the Board of General Electric, was a 1974 graduate of Finneytown High School.

Coming next, Indian Hill.

View Older News Articles in the News Archive